The Schools Committee is the Harvard Club's largest volunteer activity.  Each year, over 300 graduates of Harvard College interview candidates from the greater Washington area.  The purpose of the Schools Committee is (1) to assist the Harvard College Admissions Office in its admissions decisions, and (2) to be ambassadors for Harvard in the DC-area community.

The Schools Committee also administers the Harvard Book Award program.  In the greater DC area, Harvard Book Awards are presented annually in more than 100 high schools to an outstanding student in the junior class who combines excellence in scholarship and high character with achievement in other fields.

For the 2016-17 admissions season, the Schools Committee's Area Chairs are Jeffrey H. Tignor AB '96 and Jeff Palk AB '91. The Schools Committee's Local Area Co-chairs are Barbara Cammarata AB '89 and Carl Rosenblatt AB '88 in Virginia; Ellen Chubin Epstein AB '90, JD '93 and Jante Turner AB '99 in Maryland; and Kerrien Rollins Suarez AB '98 and Jenna Louie AB '14 in Washington, DC. Luke Chung AB '85, SM '85, and his firm, FMS Inc., manage the on-line interview-assignment system.

If you are interested in volunteering, please email Schools Committee Co-Chairs Jeff Palk AB '91 at or Jeffrey H. Tignor AB '96 at